

University of Colorado

Boulder | Colorado Springs | Denver | Anschutz Medical Campus BOARD OF REGENTS

LAWS OF THE REGENTS

ARTICLE 1: UNIVERSITY OF COLORADO LEGAL ORIGIN, MISSION, POLICY FRAMEWORK AND FREEDOM OF EXPRESSION

Part A: Establishment and Location

1.A.1 Constitution of 1876

The University of Colorado was originally established as a territorial university by act of the Council and House of Representatives of the Colorado Territory on November 7, 1861. Upon Colorado's admission to the Union in 1876, the Constitution of the State of Colorado declared the territorial institution of the "University at Boulder" to be an institution of the State.

[See section 5 of article VIII of the State Constitution.]

1.A.2 Constitutional Amendments of 1923

Section 5 of article VM of the State Constitution was amended in 1923 to authorize the Regents of the University to operate all or any part of the departments of medicine, dentistry, and pharmacy at Denver. Also, nothing in section 5 was to be construed to prevent the university of other state educational institutions from giving temporary lecture courses in any part of the state, or conducting class excursions for the purpose of investigation and study.

- 1.A.3 Constitutional Amendments of 1972
 - In 1972, section 5 of article VIII of the State Constitution was further amended to:
 - (A) describe the university as being "at Boulder, Colorado Springs, and Denver";
 - (B) extend the University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus provision to include all or any part of the schools of medicine, dentistry, nursing, and pharmacy of the university, together with hospitals and supporting facilities and programs related to health; and
 - (C) make clear nothing in section 5 was to be construed to prevent any state institution of higher education, with prior approval of the General Assembly, from "establishing, maintaining, and conducting or discontinuing centers, medical centers, or branches in any part of the state."

43 1.A.4 Location and Administration of Four Campuses 44 45 The University of Colorado shall consist of a president's office and four campuses, each 46 of which shall be headed by a chancellor. The campuses shall operate at several 47 principal sites located and referred to as follows: 48 49 (1)at Boulder, "the University of Colorado Boulder"; 50 at Colorado Springs, "the University of Colorado Colorado Springs"; (2) at Denver, "the University of Colorado Denver"; 51 (3) 52 (4) at Aurora, "University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus." 53 54 55 History: 56 Adopted: February 11, 2010. 57 Revised: January 22, 1998; April 5, 2018; September 14, 2018 (Added Article 1.E: Freedom of Expression and revised Article 1.D: Ethical Conduct of University of Colorado 58 59 Employees); June 18, 2020 (Article 1.D: Ethical Conduct of the University of Colorado Community was moved into Article 8: Conduct of Members of the University Community). 60 61 • Last Reviewed: September 14, 2018. 62 Non-substantive Changes: January 2024. •